Action Alert
Take Action Kansas: Pressure Key Leaders to Defund Common Core

May 30, 2013

We have heard good reports about the efforts at the Capitol yesterday, and we know that the legislators are hearing you. However, we need to turn up the heat on a few key leaders urging them to find a way to stop Common Core in Kansas this legislative session.

Below, you will find a short list of key legislators and staff for you to target using the same talking points as before. Simply ask these leaders to please find a way to stop Common Core in Kansas THIS legislative session.

It is of the highest importance and cannot be put off or ignored. In your messages to staff, ask them to please urge their boss to find a way to stop Common Core.

Then, use this e-mail tool to send a message to your personal State Representative and State Senator asking the same of them.  

Feel free to include any of the following links in your e-mails:

 Talking Points:

  • Please defund Common Core because this big-government, top-down approach to education is not good for students and the future of Kansas.
  • With costs expected to be anywhere from $60-$185 million over the next several years, Kansas taxpayers cannot afford the Common Core!
  • We know that Kansas cannot depend on the federal government to look out for the best interests of our children, so please defend Kansans by defunding the Common Core Standards. 

 

Sen. Susan Wagle – Senate President

785-296-2419, susan.wagle@senate.ks.gov

Aly Rodee - Senate President Communications Director

785-296-2419, aly.rodee@senate.ks.gov

Sen. Jeff King

785-296-7361, jeff.king@senate.ks.gov

Sen. Terry Bruce - Majority Leader

785-296-2497, terry.bruce@senate.ks.gov

Peter Northcott - Chief of Staff to the Majority Leader

785-296-2497, peter.northcott@senate.ks.gov

Rep. Ray Merrick – Speaker of the House

785-296-2302, ray.merrick@house.ks.gov

Christie Kriegshauser – Speaker Chief of Staff

785-296-1752, Christie.kriegshauser@house.ks.gov

Rep. Peggy Mast – Speaker Pro Tem

785-291-3500, peggy.mast@house.ks.gov

Rep. Jene Vickrey – House Majority Leader

785-296-7662, jene.vickrey@house.ks.gov

Sen. Ty Masterson – Senate Ways & Means Committee Chairman

785-296-7388, ty.masterson@senate.ks.gov

Debbie Luper - Chief of Staff to Sen. Masterson

785-296-5415, debbie.luper@senate.ks.gov

Rep. Marc Rhoades – House Appropriations Committee Chairman

785-296-7682, marc.rhoades@house.ks.gov

 

Facebook Twitter Email More...

Take Action
1 Compose Message
Message Recipients:
Your State Upper Chamber Representatives
Your State Lower Chamber Representatives
Delivery Method:
Email
Printed Letter
Subject:
Impact Meter:
Research has shown that shorter messages are more effective. Use this meter to keep your message to a good length!
 
 
 
 
 
 
0 characters 1.5K characters 3K characters 5K characters
Editable text:
(edit or add your own text)

Tip: Cutting-and-pasting? Save as plain text first.
 
Talking Points
Click the red arrow to select any of the following text for inclusion in your message.
Please defund Common Core because this big-government, top-down approach to education is not good for students and the future of Kansas.
With costs expected to be anywhere from $60-$185 million over the next several years, Kansas taxpayers cannot afford the Common Core!
We know that Kansas cannot depend on the federal government to look out for the best interests of our children, so please defend Kansans by defunding the Common Core Standards.
Your Closing:
Your Name:
2 Sender Information
Eagle Forum does not share your information.
Your Contact Information:
Prefix (required by some officials)
First *
Last *
Email *
Address *
City *
State *
ZIP *
ZIP + 4
Phone (required by some officials)
Remember Me! (what's this?)
Sign me up for the Action E-List.
A copy of your message will be sent to the e-mail address entered above.
 
(Please click only once.)
powered by CQ Roll Call ©2016